Impending Doom

Baptized in Filth

01. Murderer
02. For The Wicked
03. Chaos: Reborn
04. Deceiver
05. Falling Away
06. Absolute Horror
07. Angry Letters To God
08. Baptized In Filth
09. My Light Unseen
10. Death. Ascension. Resurrection.

[eOne Records]

Deathcore is a very touchy subject this side of Heavy Blog Is Heavy. The name is infamous in the metal community, especially with so called “metal purists” who think that breakdowns and 808 bass drops don’t belong in metal. Personally, I like deathcore. I think everyone needs some good music just to vibe to. You don’t always need to have a super technical guitar solo over a 21/8 riff while going 220 BPM. Sometimes, the standard 4/4 chug is a breath of fresh air after consuming ample amounts of tech metal or death metal. Impending Doom do deliver some of the sickest chugs I have heard in a while. However, I can’t help but feel dissatisfied with Baptized in Filth.

Don’t get me wrong, the album is not a bad album — it’s definitely one of the better deathcore releases I have heard in a while, barring the most recent Acacia Strain record being a disappointment and all of the awful deathcore bands putting out boring records (yes, I mean you, Emmure and Chelsea Grin). But I think that, after three album, this album should be THE album — the one that sends Impending Doom to new heights. But after listening to this album a few times, I found the cons outweighed the pros. Like I said, the album wasn’t a bad album at all, but to me it feels like Impending Doom sort of rested on their laurels instead of taking the next step forward in their career.

The album opens with a pretty solid riff and some very fast double bass in ‘Murderer.’ It’s a pretty good opener, all things considered; it gets you right out of your seat and ready to hit the pits full force, fists swinging and legs flailing. All the songs mesh together really well; the transitions seem very natural and unforced. However , this albums suffers heavily from filler tracks, like ‘Falling Away‘ and ‘Deceiver.‘ There is nothing really special about much of Baptized in Filth. In my opinion, the way to tell a good record from a great record is to listen and see if any songs feel like filler tracks that could have been omitted or changed around to make them better.

Impending Doom are one of the few deathcore bands I do like, which is why this album is such a let down. Similarly to Wormwood, I was expecting the next leap to a new height. I was expecting some more feel on this record. While Impending Doom do make great deathcore, the one thing I always felt was lacking was the feel. Sometimes, they are so concerned with doing breakdowns that they forget songs are supposed to invoke a certain emotion into people. Adding layers helps, in a sense. ‘Angry Letters To God’ is a great example; with that added lick or guitar layer, maybe a droning of some sort, it would have brought the decent song up to a great song. Overall, this album lacked emotion, which is something I personally need in order to define a record as a great one.

One thing that I did really appreciate was the production on this record. It is some of the most crisp, razor sharp production I have heard so far in 2012. Andreas Magnusson (who has done work for The Black Dahlia Murder and Oh, Sleeper to name a few) did stellar work. If the production of this album wasn’t as good, it would have been a hell of a lot harder to get through it multiple times. There are some very good musical moments on this album, too. The appearance of Demon Hunter‘s Ryan Clark on ‘My Light Unseen’ is one of the album’s high points and serves as a nice break from the monotonous chugging. ‘Death. Ascension. Resurrection.’ and ‘Baptized In Filth‘ are also highlights, with the latter having some of the best lyrics I have heard from Impending Doom. While they are a Christian band, the lyrics have a lot more of a universal meaning when you hear the anthemic roar of, “practice what you preach, you hypocrite!”

If the entire album sounded in the vein of the album’s closing track ‘Death. Ascension. Resurrection.‘, it could have been the record that brought Impending Doom up to the next level. Unfortunately, they still remain where they were two years ago when they released There Will Be Violence. Baptized In Filth will suffice for deathcore fans in general, but hardcore Impending Doom fans will be left wondering, “Is that it?”


Impending Doom – Baptized in Filth gets…


– SS


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.