Job For A Cowboy


01. Children Of Deceit
02. Nourishment Through Bloodshed
03. Imperium Wolves
04. Tongueless And Bound
05. Black Discharge
06. The Manipulation Stream
07. The Deity Misconception
08. Fearmonger
09. Tarnished Gluttony

[Metal Blade Records]

Job For A Cowboy are one of my favorite death metal bands. Regardless of their “bree-bree” past, they have evolved from terrible deathcore band to a very high quality death metal act that can hold their own against the likes of Obituary and Suffocation. Every album for them has been a stepping stone. From the –core influences on their first EP Doom to their last album Ruination the band has continued to evolve, especially as musicians. So when I heard of the new album, and heard their single ‘Nourishment Through Bloodshed’, my first though was “I must prepare myself.”

Let me just start off by saying that this album is SICK. One of the most solid releases I have heard this year. No filler; just straight up brutal and heavy, which is the way I love my metal. Right out of the gate, ‘Children Of Deceit’ comes and hits you hard with some of the fastest blast beast that Charn has ever produced. My hands hurt just from listening to it. From there the album only gets better, with each song pummeling me with tasty riff after tasty riff. If this album were a buffet, I would probably be morbidly obese by its end, because all these tasty licks keep pouring out of my headphones.

I would like to point out that the musicianship on this album is incredible. Each musician has room to shine, even their bassist, which is good. I feel like in a lot of death metal releases the bass kind of gets muddied out by the guitars, vocals and drums. But, equivalent to The Black Dahlia Murder’s latest record Ritual, the bass is nice and audible, almost at an even level in the mix with the guitars. Both guitarists are top notch, with some very tasteful solos in ‘Tongueless And Bound’ and ‘Tarnished Gluttony’. Also, the entire bridge, solo, and end of ‘Black Discharge’ has got to be one of my favorite moments from the album. One thing that must have been on the regular rotation on the groups’ iTunes is Gojira, because the final song, ‘Tarnished Gluttony’, sounds like something they would have written. You can really feel the heavy influence that the band took from them, from the opening guitar line to the main riff. Even the vocal work has improved since Ruination. Davy’s highs sound better than before, and his lows are right on point. ‘Nuff said.

The production on this album is also super crisp. Suecof and Douches, as always, did a fantastic job, and it’s always great to hear an album with such good production value really encapsulate the musicians in their prime.

I don’t have that many gripes with the album. Actually, I only have one. On the album’s closer, it would have been nice to hear some half-sung vocals over the intro riff building up to the main riff. Maybe it’s just me, but I feel like that would have only added to the buildup the band was making before jumping right into the main guitar riff.

What we have here is a legitimate death metal band rising to their prime. So for those of you who refuse to listen because of their early deathcore days, quit being so stubborn. One listen, and your thoughts about the band will forever be altered, and you will go from saying, “They are just another group of deathcore posers” to “When’s their next concert? I MUST HAVE TICKETS!”


Job For A Cowboy – Demonocracy gets…

– SS


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.