Son of Perdition

01. Oblivion
02. Imminent Growth
03. At the First Sign of Rust
04. Dilated Disappointment
05. Repeat… the End is Near
06. Dreams of Chaos
07. The Stellar Sunset Of Evolution Pt. 1 (The Silence)
08. The Stellar Sunset Of Evolution Pt. 2 (The Rise)
09. The Stellar Sunset Of Evolution Pt. 2 (The Son of Perdition)
10. Karma Accomplished
11. Decimation

[Victory Records]

Wretched’s new album Son of Perdition creeped up on me, quite honestly. Death Metal is not my typical forte’ and I’ve been obsessed with Meshuggah most recently. That is until I heard Wretched’s new single ‘Repeat, The End Is Near’. This song quite effectively reignited my lust for blast beats and shreds, and I began spinning Beyond The Gate in anticipation of their new work. I thoroughly enjoyed their previous work, and since then my aural skills of all things heavy have matured. As a result, I found my-self enjoying Beyond The Gate more then when I had first listened to it. By this point my expectations had peaked high for Son Of Perdition.

After a very brief discussion with my co-writer, Nayon, one word describes Son of Perdition quite well — diverse. This was tough for me to accept upon the first few listens as I was expecting a fast straight-forward Melodic Death Metal album. By contrast, I was greeted with songs like ‘Dreams of Chaos’, which crawls and drones behind the duo of a very catchy guitar-lead and drum-work. The brief use of keys used for the outro sounds strikingly similar to the outro found on the track ‘Rest’ from Misery Signal’s Controller. Similar in pace is track three, ‘At The First Sign Of Rust’, which opens with a head-banging-breakdown, transitions to a moment of proggy riffing, and then returns to the head-banging. ‘Oblivion’, track one, actually uses a full-choir piece and opens the album beautifully. In conjunction with second track, ‘Imminent Growth’, the atmosphere is beautifully set with the choir singing album introduction transitioning to blast beats and deep evil growls. Track ten, ‘Karma Accomplished’, sounds very similar to something The Contortionist would write, enjoying bouncy riffs throughout and a very Meshuggah-esque midsection.

The two most evident features of Son of Perdition that hint at Wretched’s last album are the single ‘Repeat, The End Is Near’ and the inclusion of a beautiful three-track instrumental, ‘The Stellar Sunset of Evolution.’ The single oozes their previous work in shifting song-structure and writing. By contrast, the three-track instrumental sounds much more cohesive than those found on Beyond the Gate or The Exodus of Autonomy. ‘The Stellar Sunset Of Evolution Pt. 1 (The Silence)’ is either beautiful or haunting depending upon the mood you find yourself in. ‘Pt. 2 (The Rise)’ offers more chuggy riffing, closing with screaming guitars, and swims to ‘Pt. 3 (Son Of Perdition)’ which opens with Spanish-themed instrumentation and closes with another breakdown. At this point it should be obvious there are arguably more breakdowns on this album than Beyond the Gate. But make no mistake, they are written in the taste of Death Metal. With the exception of ‘Dilated Disappointment‘, you will want to bang your head first and foremost. ‘Dilated Disappointment’ competes with deathcore giants Whitechapel in heaviness, and as a result may induce fist swinging first.

As for criticisms, there isn’t much to point at. The production quality is on par. Certain songs like ‘Imminent Growth‘ sound deliberately grittier then the rest. On the other hand, ‘Repeat, The End Is Near’ sounds much cleaner, offering the listener a chance to hear each instrument. In addition, upon the first few listens I found the album to be overwhelming due to everything offered, but this was quickly overcame and forgotten. Son Of Perdition demonstrates Wretched’s creativity through an excellent and heterogeneous work of melodic death metal.


Wretched – Son of Perdition gets…


– PC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.