Hordes Of Zombies


01. Intro
02. Hordes Of Zombies
03. Ignorance And Apathy
04. Subterfuge
05. Evolving Era
06. Radiation Syndrome
07. Flesh To Dust
08. Generation Chaos
09. Broken Mirrors
10. Prospect Of Oblivion
11. Malevolent Ghosts
12. Forward To Annihilation
13. State Of Mind
14. A Dying Breed
15. Wretched

[Season of Mist]

The name Terrorizer holds a lot of weight — their 1989 debut World Downfall is a cornerstone of the grind genre and after just that one record the band split up, forever cementing them into ‘cult’ status and meaning that metalheads all over the world can smugly proclaim they know of a classic band that ‘did it better’. However, back in 2006 the core of the band in Pete Sandoval (of Morbid Angel) and Jesse Pintado (of Napalm Death) reformed to bring out Darker Days Ahead and, despite the fact it contained some of the last recordings Pintado would make, the general consensus was that it was a little lackluster.

2012 brings us the follow up to that in Hordes Of Zombies, with the return of David Vincent (also of Morbid Angel) on bass duties as it was on World Downfall and new guitarist Katina Culture filling the gaping hole left by the late, great Jesse Pintado. Naturally, expectation was through the roof come release date for a band who hold such a legacy and now, once again, contain half of the classic Morbid Angel line up that made masterpieces including Altars Of Madness and Domination. So believe me when I say that after the fairly tragic incident that was Illud Divinum Insanus, I would have loved for Terrorizer to march in and completely blow it out of the water.

Instead, Hordes Of Zombies provides nothing more than an idle and limpwristed attempt at reliving that authentic grind sound. Fifteen tracks come and go in the space of fourty minutes without so much as a tangible riff to hold onto or a wholesome track to really get your teeth into. ‘Hordes Of Zombies‘ and ‘Prospect Of Oblivion‘ make good attempts but essentially fall short due to their needlessly long running times and dependence on the same few riffs to get by. ‘State Of Mind‘ and ‘Wretched‘ fare much better with their half time variations and rapid solo, respectively, but two songs alone don’t make an album — for the most part you’re left wondering when Terrorizer are going to lose the rigidity that plagues most of these tracks. To be fair, it’s worth mentioning that band pull off some good performances individually — each member is beyond competent and it’s good to see the Commando back behind the kit even if he does play it relatively safe.

All together, Hordes Of Zombies seems to lack that one important factor that set them apart from their peers — this is Brutal Truth without their spastic charm, Napalm Death without the substance or experimentation and Assuck without the raw intensity. There’s just nothing here that separates the band from any number of lesser known grind releases over the years and while I hate to be ‘that guy’, but I’m going to go ahead and say it anyway: World Downfall was spectacular, couldn’t it just have been left at that? And as for grindcore? Well I know a band that did it better, they’re just not the same band anymore.

Terrorizer’s Hordes Of Zombies gets…


– DL


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.