Blood For The Master


01. Collapse In Eternal Worth
02. When Steel And Bone Meet
03. Parasitic Scriptures Of The Sacred Word
04. In Deathless Tradition
05. Judgement Of The Bleeding Crown
06. Embodiment Of This Bitter Chaos
07. Beyond The Spell Of Discontent\
08. Death To The Architects Of Heaven
09. An End To Nothing
10. My Name Is Frightful Among The Believers

[Metal Blade]

Goatwhore are just one of those bands that embody the spirit of heavy metal – the kind of band that goes hand in hand with drunken air guitar, bullet belts and invisible oranges. Having been pumping out blackened odes to the darker side of life since 1998 and constantly refining their sound to a sharpened point, Goatwhore’s efforts culminated in 2009’s Carving Out The Eyes Of God which garnered near-universal praise, not for reinventing the wheel, but for merely indulging in that base need all metalheads have for rocking the fuck out. Featuring members of Acid Bath, Crowbar, Nachtmystium and Soilent Green, they certainly have the pedigree and they’ve shown they can produce the goods before, but how does Blood For The Master stand up to the high expectations left by their previous outings?

Collapse In Eternal Worth‘ opens the album with a standard run through of thrashing riffs and d-beats, it’s not a bad track be any means but I can’t help but compare it to the absolutely blistering opener ‘Apocalyptic Havoc‘ from Carving Out The Eyes Of God. Where as the latter set the tone perfectly for fourty minutes of blackened hatred, ‘Collapse…‘ seems relatively average and hits none of the high notes despite a stunning display by ex-Nachtmystium skinsman Zack Simmons. It’s ‘When Steel And Bone Meet‘ that sets the record back on track, providing that burst of energy that seemed to be so glaringly absent from the previous track. Mashing together Venom riffs with Skeletonwitch’s inherent knack for making grandiose live anthems, it’s nothing short of scorching thrash madness that I’ve come to expect from them.

Thankfully, much of the record follows in the footsteps of the havoc cast forth by ‘When Steel And Bone Meet‘. ‘An End To Nothing‘ lives out the tradition in metal albums that states that the shortest track is also the fastest — for just under three minutes Goatwhore produce a relentless assault of riffs and unholy rasps that bring to mind some of the simpler work of Absu or even some of the more accomplished work of Aura Noir. ‘Parasitic Scriptures Of The Sacred Word‘ is another highlight comprised of blasphemous Bathory worship that reeks of the fuzzy and warm hatred of Under The Sign Of The Black Mark or even Blood Fire Death.

Unsurprisingly, it’s the same problems that plague this release that have done since the dawn of Goatwhore. Variation is a dirty word, nearly the entirety of Blood For The Master is filled with break neck thrash riffs at high tempos which may be understandably tiring for some listeners. Previous fans will already know the drill for their ‘one gear only’ method of songwriting – although the tracks do sound similar they all follow the Goatwhore  formula which, if nothing else, is absolutely killer and hasn’t quite been run into the ground yet.


Goatwhore’s Blood For The Master gets…




– DL


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.