It’s been two years or so since I became aware of the so-called progressive atmospheric death metal group 7 Horns 7 Eyes. I know Big Chocolate was stoked on them during one of his vlogs and there was a lot of buzz about Jeff Loomis (ex-Nevermore) contributing a guest solo to their new album. After signing to Century Media and Basick Records, they sort of faded out of my awareness in the past year until today when I got word that their debut album Throes of Absolution will finally see the light of day this April.

Here’s a neat press quote from guitarist Aaron Smith on what took them so damn long:

“7H7E has been on quite a journey since we embarked on recording this album, full of some big ups and downs—not the least of which being signed to Century Media/Basick Records, enduring a front-man change, re-recording all the album vocals, and sharing the stage with some great bands…and let me tell you-it feels amazing for us to know that we finally get to release this thing out into the world. Many of our fans have waited patiently for years for this record to drop, likely wondering at times if it ever even will, and we can’t thank them enough for sticking by us.  Here’s to our fans and to 2012 being a great new year for 7 HORNS 7 EYES!  See you on the road!”

Ah, so that explains it! Throes of Absolution is due out April 23rd throughout Europe on Basick Records and April 24th in North America via Century Media. After the jump, you can check out the track list. Below, check out a song from the record, titled ‘Vindicator.’


– JR

1. Divine Amnesty
2. Phumis: The Falsehood of Affliction
3. The Hill Difficulty
4. Cycle of Self
5. Delusions
6. A Finite Grasp of Infinite Disillusion
7. Vindicator
8. The Winnowing
9. Regeneration

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.