The Mars Volta is not a name bandied around here often, but with the recent reformation of At The Drive-In, it only seemed right that we tell you that the brainchild of Omar Rodriguez-Lopez and Cedric Bixler-Zavala will be releasing their new album Noctourniquet on March 27th, probably on Warner Bros.

The tracklisting is as follows:

01. The Whip hand
02. Aegis
03. Dyslexicon
04. Empty Vessels Make The Loudest Sound
05. The Malkin Jewel
06. Lapochka
07. In Absentia
08. Imago
09. Molochwalker
10. Trinkets Of The Pale Moon
11. Vedamalady
12. Noctourniquet
13. Zed And Two Naughts

Noctourniquet will be the first Volta record to include drummer Deantoni Parks, who spent much of 2010 touring with Omar as part of his solo live band, and in fact was in the band for a short spell in late 2006.

Various live bootlegs of new TMV material have been appearing online for a little while now, and with this confirmation of details, the following (admittedly low quality) version of the title track gives us a little flavour of what it will be like:


One thing  that I’ve always enjoyed about The Mars Volta over ATD-I is Cedric’s voice; he was chaotic and unbalanced with his former band, and although it absolutely worked, his craft has only improved with time. Tentatively looking forward to this one.

After the jump, ‘Molochwalker‘!

– CG


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.