The Browning

Burn This World

01. No Escape
02. Not Alone
03. Bloodlust
04. Standing on the Edge
05. Burn This World
06. Ashamed
07. Living Dead
08. Forgotten
09. Time Will Tell
10. Tragedy of Perfection
11. Dominator
12. I Choose You
13. The Sadist

[Earache Records]

[Funny story, actually. I downloaded an album that was tagged Burn This World, but it turns out that it was actually their EP. Either way, I reviewed the wrong album.  SILLY ME.]

Deathcore doesn’t have a lot going for it. While there are some revolutionaries in the field that does push the boundaries, a lot of groups fail to not only innovate, but make something that sounds decent. I’d rather stick to my progressive and jazz metal than listen to deathcore, which makes it very odd that I am reviewing The Browning‘s latest record, Burn This World. It’s because, even though that it’s very derivative, it’s also very catchy, very fun, very listenable, and very good.

The Browning’s musical style meshes deathcore with trance, hardstyle, dubstep, and other styles of electronic music. Now, I know what you’re thinking: “but wait, Deus! So many of the scene bands do that and they suck!” Yes, they do, but The Browning’s style is different. It’s considerably more ‘metal’ than scene releases, and is more creative with it’s melodies and hooks. The song writing is also stronger, and doesn’t feature any clean singing.

The record itself, while not doing anything to sound original, still is a super fun experience. This is the equivalent of mindless rave music. If you’re spending your brainpower analyzing this record to the core, you aren’t going to find anything more than deathcore with keyboard leads that could’ve easily been played by a guitarist – but if you just don’t think about it – let the music take control of you – you’ll easily find yourself headbanging to the heaviness of the guitars, the super catchiness of the keys, and vocalist Jonny McBee’s powerful declarations. It may be one of the most fun records to just listen to. I can’t imagine how awesome a live show would be.

However, that doesn’t mean it’s all good. There are a couple of tracks that feel like filler. Some songs just don’t stand on it’s own, and the record is weaker because of it. Also, some songs, like “Time Will Tell” and “Standing on the Edge”, were songs from their EP that I mistakenly reviewed (I will never get over that). While they were the best songs off that EP, I don’t like the idea that they recycled it for the sake of adding it their full length. I want to hear all-new material, not recycled songs. I also miss their use of clean guitars that they used on the EP. That element really added a lot of depth and re-playability. Also, the production is a bit of an issue. The guitar and bass is super low in the mix if it doesn’t involve chugging, and the kick drum is way too high.  The vocal production is inconsistent, and the 808 bass drops are absolutely pointless.  The synth is the only highlight of the production, as it sounds lush and full.

Overall, Burn This World isn’t super interesting for an active listener. The music is generic, it isn’t completely all new material, and the production is sub-par. But dammit, if you’re just in the mood to have a super fun time banging your head to some of the catchiest breakdowns and melodies this reviewer has heard in a deathcore release, then you should pick up Burn This World. It may be slightly above-average when it comes to the music, but in terms of a metal release being fun, it’s right up there.

The Browning – Burn This World gets…


P.S.: Yes, this review is almost the same as the mistaken review.  It applies to this album as well. What of it? COME AT ME, BRO.

– GR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.