Brutal Truth

End Time

01. Malice
02. Simple Math
03. End Time
04. Fuck Cancer
05. Celebratory Gunfire
06. Small Talk
07. .58 Caliber
08. Swift And Violent (Swift Version)
09. Crawling Man Blues
10. Lottery
11. Warm Embrace Of Poverty
12. Old World Order
13. Butcher
14. Killing Planet Earth
15. Gut-Check
16. All Work And No Play
17. Addicted
18. Sweet Dreams
19. Echo Friendly Discharge
20. Twenty Bag
21. Trash
22. Drink Up
23. Control Room

[Relapse Records]

Grindcore is not a genre that is meant to be explored. As much as innovation and creativity is appreciated, taking the genre of grindcore and deviating into the places Brutal Truth go in their 6th album End Time is a step in the wrong direction. They do no favors for grind this time around – save for the excellent drumming (as always). They’re no strangers to grind and are considered a staple in the genre by many, but after hearing End Time, I feel like I’ve just listened to the most frantic of Brutal Truth’s work 22 times over. This isn’t necessarily a good thing.

The album is largely forgettable and doesn’t sit well with the closing track “Control Room“. The album consists of Kevin Sharp’s vocal lines that seem to repeat themselves over the chaotic instruments beneath him. Dan Liker’s backup vocals are good and add a much needed, albeit minimal, contrast to the music, but the guitars are always squealing it seems, and when they aren’t being obnoxious they add very little to the crowded mix.

This brings me to the biggest problem of this album; the production. I can’t exactly put a finger on it, but the spotlight switches so often that every instrument here blends together into something too chaotic to be enjoyable. It just doesn’t have the classic grind sound. The bass is too low in the mix and has a hard time deciding if it wants to just go ahead and take the spotlight or to sit back and just support the music, so it ends up in this musical limbo; confused. The drums, although technically satisfying, seem to be playing to entirely different songs. They are completely separated and detached from the music most of the time; it just doesn’t come together. Even when you bring it down to the level that matters most (the music) it just isn’t that good. With all of the aforementioned problems the songs just don’t hold up. They do nothing new here, and it’s not just Brutal Truth having an off day; they wouldn’t be good if anybody else played them either.

The album closes with this atrocious 15 minute instrumental of squeals, feedback and fills, and although Brutal Truth have dabbled in noise before, this is nothing like their coveted Perpetual Conversion EP. These unnecessary 15 minutes trudge through an unending pool of poor production and “improvisation” that hold no value to a sane audience or a live performance.

Brutal Truth aren’t a bad band and I understand that to a lot of people the appeal of grindcore is the chaos and that raw sound – I just didn’t find any of that here. I do have one reason to recommend this though; the drumming. If you can just shut out everything but the drums then you are in for a treat. Richard Hoak has a wonderful performance on this record and manages to change it up with some incredible fills and underrated proficiency.

In conclusion, this album is not really worth checking out and we have the first bad review in a while.

Brutal Truth – End Time gets…


– CD

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.