Everyone’s favorite progressive metal/jazz-fusion blend Cynic have just announced that their highly anticipated next release will be coming in just a few short months! The band’s new EP Carbon-Based Anatomy will grace your ears on November 15th at the latest. Here’s a direct copy of the press release:

Forefathers of Progressive Metal CYNIC have recorded a new EP entitled “Carbon-Based Anatomy”, to be released on November 11th in Europe (November 15th in North America). Contrary to last year’s “Re-Traced”, this new EP exclusively consists of brand new material.


  1. Amidst The Coals
  2. Carbon-Based Anatomy
  3. Bija!
  4. Box Up My Bones
  5. Elves Beam Out
  6. Hieroglyph

The artwork was designed by the great Robert Venosa, the artist behind the cover artworks of “Focus”, “Traced in Air” and “Re-Traced”. We regret to announce that Robert passed away last month. RIP.

Paul Masvidal describes this new EP as “both a philosophical as well as a musical journey, one that begins in the Amazon jungle on the lips of a shamanic wisewoman (as portrayed by [singer/songwriter] Amy Correia) and ends in outerspace”.

Last but not least, the fans will be excited to know that all bass parts on “Carbon-Based Anatomy” were recorded by Mr. Sean Malone.

This sounds awesome. What strikes me as interesting is that Sean Malone has agreed to do the bass parts even though he has left the band and they apparently picked up Ex-The Faceless‘ Brandon Giffin. I sure as hell aint complaining though, because Sean Malone is a stellar player. Is Brandon strictly touring while Sean maintains himself as a session player? We’ll see where this goes!

Hopefully we’ll get a taste of new music shortly. A fix of new Cynic can’t come soon enough!

– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.