The Francesco Artusato Project

Chaos and the Primordial

01. Chaos and the Primordial
02. Typhoeus
03. Gardens of Yama
04. Ceased Time
05. The Metamorphosis
06. Pour L’ egyptienne
07. Aktion T4
08. The Madness of…
09. Layers of Corrosion – The Last Particle

[Sumerian Records]

We love more than our fair share of tech-wizardry here at Heavy Blog. Animals as Leaders, Scale The Summit, and countless other shredntities and eponymous projects have captured our attention over the years. We’re suckers for instrumental music when it’s done right, plain and simple — but what makes or breaks an instrumental project? Tough question, and I’m glad you asked. Allow me to use The Francesco Artusato Project as an example of what not to do.

Francesco Artusato, guitarist of seminal deathcore group All Shall Perish, has just released his first solo album Chaos and the Primordial. Being released on the same day and label as Evan Brewer‘s Alone, Chaos and the Primordial looked like it was implied to be the guitar-centric counterpart to Brewer’s groundbreaking record, which isn’t the case. Chaos and the Primordial makes no new noise that we haven’t already heard years ago done to a much greater margin of success by John 5.

You’re looking at about 45-minutes of homogenous guitar wank that does little to stray from the course. You have some divergence in the odd clean tone and the track “Pour L’egyptienne” which breaks up the monotony, but Chaos and the Primordial is mostly the same guitar tone doing the exact same style of music, playing what sounds like the same notes over and over… but sometimes really fast, you know? The fact of the matter is that Chaos and the Primordial shows off Artusato’s talents as a guitarist, but as a songwriter, he’s just crafted a wholly uninteresting practice of sweeps, solos, and lifeless riffs done ad nauseum. It’s all flair with no soul.

There’s nothing technically wrong with the record from a sonic or production standpoint, and it’s certainly not offensive or bad in any way; Chaos and the Primordial is just plain boring. There’s some really standout parts strewn about, but there’s little of substance that will beg a repeated listen. Best case scenario: an All Shall Perish fan will give it a spin and think it sounds pretty rad, and then forget its existence a week later.

I know I’m giving Artusato a lot of shit, and it really isn’t fair that this review’s tone so far has been more negative than my Limp Bizkit review. At the end of the day, Francesco Artusato can shred with the best of them, and if that’s what you want to hear, than Chaos and the Primordial is right up your alley. It’s an impressive tech resume of a session player, but the songwriting and composition is quite lacking. Fans of one-man progressive instrumental metal should probably avoid Chaos and the Primordial and seek out tried and true artists of the genre like Paul Wardingham and Piotrek Gruzka instead for something more mentally involving.

The Francesco Arusato Project – Chaos and the Primordial gets…


– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.