Century Media, the new home to Swedish melodic death metal turned modernized pop metal band In Flames, has revealed the new album art and tracklisting for their upcoming album Sounds of a Playground Fading. I was just about to be upset because I didn’t see the In Flames Jesterhead mascot right away , but they’re engraved into the clock (which is backwards—intentionally or by mistake, I’m not sure) if you look close enough. I guess that’ll do, but now that I mention it, the Jesterhead wasn’t a part of Whoracle, Reroute to Remain, Soundtrack to Your Escape, or Come Clarity. If you’re gonna have a staple like this throughout your work, at least commit one way or the other, dammit!

The artwork itself doesn’t differ much from the covers of their last couple of albums, so I’d imagine that the music is along the same lines—not really much of a shocker there. Even still, I’m sure it’ll be catchy as hell and provide for a fun listen. Here’s the tracklist:

01. Sounds Of A Playground Fading
02. Deliver Us
03. All For Me
04. The Puzzle
05. Fear Is The Weakness
06. Where The Dead Ships Dwell
07. The Attic
08. Darker Times
09. Ropes
10. Enter Tragedy
11. Jester’s Door
12. A New Dawn
13. Liberation

You’ll probably end up hearing their new single “Deliver Us” around May 6th, as it drops in several countries. It should be available in the US by May 10th, so keep an eye out! Sounds of a Playground Fading will be out June 21st.

– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.