Meek Is Murder


01. Hello, World!
02. Return Void
03. Algorithms
04. Recursions
05. (null)
06. Hope Springs Eternal (Spaghetti Code)
07. Sundowners
08. foo
09. Dining Philosophers
10. Garbage Collector


As soon as the piercing feedback and subsequent hellish dirge of opening track “Hello, World!” erupts from your speakers, it becomes abundantly clear; Meek is Murder is the powerful return of the mathcore aesthetic done right. Sounding like Nails fronted by The Chariot’s Josh Scogin, Algorithms is so good that you can pretend Norma Jean never found out about Warped Tour and instead decided that a path of righteous technical showmanship and a steamroller of hardcore assault was the better way to go.

Algorithms is the debut album from Meek is Murder, the brainchild of former The Red Chord guitarist Mike Keller. Produced by none other than Converge‘s Kurt Ballou, Algorithms has all the makings for a masterpiece in the realm of hardcore and grind, where the staple of chaotic and concise musicianship reigns supreme. Clocking it at just under 20 minutes, Meek Is Murder make it feel like a good 40 by the time “Garbage Collector” slows to a halt. Making the most out of the short amount of time is key, and they certainly pull it off with flying colors.

Algorithms has marvelous flow and cohesion. The album throws constant phrases of music almost without pause, save for some tension-building guitar feedback at the end of “Sundowners.” On first listen, running through a third of the album without noticing a track change is nearly inevitable. They also switch up their sound enough to keep things from being a monotonous barrage of chaotic dissonance with gloomy piano pieces tying the two halves of the record together even more. When Keller & Co. aren’t flinging fast paced riffs and fills in random directions, they infuse a touch of doom into the mix by slowing the tempo and turning the music into a lumbering monstrosity for a few moments before doing it all over again, as in the introspective 6-minute closer “Garbage Collector.” This interplay between lashing out and then spiraling back in upon itself (the album ends the same way it began) makes Algorithms feels dynamic and wisely crafted to be more than just a collection of pissed off spazz attacks.

Algorithms does have its drawbacks. Because of its length and layout, most of the individual songs lack their own identity. Luckily, this is justified when looking at the bigger picture, where Algorithms demands full-length listening, as it certainly plays like one epic track with reoccurring themes. Meek Is Murder obviously doesn’t have the most original sound around, but they’re damn good at it, putting many their contemporaries to shame. If Algorithms isn’t a fantastic first step into becoming a big name in the genre, I don’t know what is.

Meek Is Murder – Algorithms gets…


– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.