Becoming the Archetype

Celestial Completion

01. The Resonant Frequency of Flesh
02. The Magnetic Sky
03. Internal Illumination
04. Path of the Beam
05. Music of the Spheres: Requiem Aeternam Pt. 1
06. Elemental Wrath: Requiem Aeternam Pt. 2
07. Xenosynthesis: Requiem Aeternam Pt. 3
08. Invisible Creature
09. Cardiac Rebellion
10. Reflect/Refract
11. Breathing Light

[Solid State]

The most difficult part of writing a review is starting it.  Figuring out which words to use to best convey the following reasons why [insert album name here] was great, or if it sucked.  And sometimes you spend hours just trying to figure out where your review is heading.

Now apply this concept to Becoming The Archetype‘s new album Celestial Completion.  They start out with an intro which sounds like it could fit perfectly into the Fable video game.  All of a sudden, it switches gears into a pinch-harmonic laden riff, which is admittedly catchy, but there is a noticeable lack of flow between these tracks, however good these tracks may be – and you wonder: “Where is this album heading?  What’s at the end of this metaphorical journey?”

Over the album’s forty-six minutes, you are given a ride into numerous genres, including orchestral, doom, world music, and even ska. While this may lead a reader to think this is a progressive album, it’s not, because there is barely any flow in between tracks.  Only a select few bands can execute this perfectly.  Between the Buried and Me is an example.  Their album Colors has an unbelievable flow, because every genre they execute during the album has a direct relation to the music performed before and after.  Celestial Completion just doesn’t have this.  As individual tracks, they are wonderful pieces of music, showing Becoming the Archetype’s flexibility when it comes to songwriting. However, when taken as a whole album, the album seems schizophrenic, taking too much from the band’s numerous influences (e.g. “Path of the Beam” has a riff directly taken from Born of Osiris‘ “Open Arms to Damnation“), as well as the album having little flow.  This may lead you to wonder, “who really are Becoming the Archetype?”

Now that the criticisms of the albums are done, allow me to inform you of the album’s numerous highlights. Each song easily stands on its own and has its own personality.  It’s obvious Becoming the Archetype have put a lot of hard work and dedication into allowing each track to reach its full potential.  There are no notes wasted, and everything should be where they should be within the track.

Production-wise, this album is spectacular. Everything can be easily heard. Even the bass is at an audible level, which is a refreshing change of pace indeed. Guitar tones are nice and chunky, with plenty of bite during the solos (which are spectacular, might I add).  Vocals still sound great whenever Jason Wisdom switches from his deep, guttural growl to his mid-range to high screams, and still sound good whenever clean vocalist Seth Hecox takes the mic. There is nary a clip to be heard from the albums production. Superb mixing job, indeed.

While I may have seemed harsh in the opening part of this review, I promise I greatly enjoyed this album.  While the lack of flow in the album does cause the album to lose some value, the album taken as individual tracks allows it to shine more.  Becoming the Archetype surely have a great release with Celestial Completion, and I have no doubt it will be a contender for my top 20 list at the end of the year.  However, it sounds like they are just trying too hard to sound different than the cookie-cutter metal genre.  If they would just let the music flow effortlessly, they could have a number one record for sure, as these guys are immensly talented. I eagerly await.

Becoming the Archetype’s Celestial Completion gets…


– GR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.