Amia Venera Landscape

The Long Procession

01. Empire
02. A New Aurora
03. My Hands Will Burn First
04. Ascending
05. Glances (Part I)
06. Glances (Part II)
07. Marasm
08. Nicholas
09. Infinite Sunset of the Sleepless Man
10. The Traitors’ March


So 2010 is over, but there are some albums floating around that ended up being ignored by trigger happy bloggers (much like myself) who were too focused on favorites of the year to pay any mind to the little guy. Despite the slow state of news and releases that December often brings, one new album in particular was unfortunately overshadowed in all the madness of holidays and year-end wrap ups. It’s a shame really, because this particular piece of work might have ended up on a list or two if we had caught it on time!

Amia Venera Landscape is an Italian six-piece post-hardcore outfit unlike any other. While we’ve heard bands like Devil Sold His Soul and As We Draw utilize a cutting-edge post-hardcore sound doused with flavors of ambient music and post metal, neither band manages to mix the two with this degree of success. The Long Procession is filled to the brim with Isis-esque soundscapes clashing against Dillinger Escape Plan levels of  ferocity and a Misery Signals sense of melody that is as unique as it is refreshing.

Thanks to the internet, the word “epic” has lost the meaning it used to hold. For those that don’t remember, it’s generally used for something of colossal proportions—something monumental or of considerable attributes. With that said, is epic a word I’d use as a fitting description for The Long Procession?

Yes. Yes it is.

The Long Procession is varied in it’s delivery, and with just over an hour in length, the aptly named Amia Venera Landscape provide a myriad of metal and hardcore stylings . In the course of the album, you’re taken through bouts of emotional bursts of disheartened melody, abrasive hardcore, and stretches of desolate, free-form ambiance—all brought to you in a seamless fashion. This is a feat in and of itself, but with this level of maturity in sound, one would expect this album be the work of a band with more experience under their belts. This isn’t the case; The Long Procession is the band’s debut full length album, sporting a more developed and just about fully-realized sound since their self-titled EP.

Despite how unique and undoubtedly stunning The Long Procession can be, it does have its drawbacks. Running at over an hour in length with all but 4 songs spanning past seven minutes, it can be slightly taxing to some. The space is necessary however, as songs like these need time to develop at a natural pace. You can’t wrap up an ambient piano suite like “Ascending” in under 5 minutes and achieve the same effect. I take it that most readers of this website won’t have a problem with lengthy tracks though, as we tend to capture a readership of prog and post fans.

The vocal work sounds great, but provides little in something that stands out as memorable in their own right. The vocal melodies are here, but they don’t feel as grand and catchy as they should be at times. As a fan of hooks, it would have made the album better to have a vocal line match the brilliance of the backing music. This doesn’t detract from the album at all, as they’re certainly not bad; there’s just room for improvement. Regardless, the screams and barks are certainly heartfelt and the clean vocals, when peppered in, are rather beautiful.

As far as first impressions go, Amia Venera Landscape have certainly made a great one. With this level of talent and potential, they deserve all the praise they’ve been getting for The Long Procession and get over this bout of being criminally ignored. Fans of progressive and post-metal as well as hardcore will find something of value here.

Amia Venera Landscape – The Long Procession gets…


– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.