Killing The Dream - Lucky Me Killing The Dream

Lucky Me

01. Blame The Architects
02. Walking, Diseased
03. Testimony
04. Past Of A Saint (We Were Thieves)
05. Part IV (Sinner’s Future)
06. Hell Can Wait
07. Black

[Deathwish | 11/22/2010 ]

Clocking in at just under 20 minutes, Sacramento’s hard-hitting hardcore/punk band, Killing The Dream, have just released their anticipated fourth full-length album, Lucky Me. This is their follow up to their 2008 album, Fractures, which received all sorts of praise, so it’s safe to assume, Lucky Me has a lot to live up too. Since 2002, Killing The Dream have grown musically, with each release showing more maturity, and even more so when they signed to Deathwish Inc. Being apart of a label that is purely focused on furious, fast-paced hardcore music, showcasing such bands as Trap Them, Coliseum, Doomriders and one of my personal favorites, Integrity, you’re rest assured that Killing The Dream are great at what they do and won’t disappoint, or so I thought…

“Blame The Architects”, the first track, opens with furious screams and devastating guitars which demand your attention, and from that moment on it’s a relentless barrage of melodic fury that doesn’t let up for the first minute of the track. But from out of nowhere, hidden beneath the intense outbursts, we are welcomed by a soft melody of strings that cuts through the chaos and gives the listener a breather, but a short one at that. The break is swift, but the buildup is rewarding with a powerful return of instruments, creating a melodic soundscape that gives the track a grandiose ending.

Now if only the rest of the album followed in the same footsteps as “Blame The Architects”. While Lucky Me continues right along with the melody, the overall feeling begins to falter and lose the lasting impression the first track instilled. “Walking, Diseased” still retains a steady pace, offering pulse pounding drums and guitars, but just when you’re getting into it… it ends. “Testimony” is where the album begins to take a different route, although still coming across powerful, it’s the addition of melodious singing that hurts this track. Frankly, it feels forced, like it was thrown in last minute just for the sake of having clean vocals.

It’s not until “Hell Can Wait” comes in, that the album picks up where “Walking, Diseased” left off. The strong attack of fury comes back as the band reminds you why you’re listening to the album in the first place. Shame it’s only a little over 2 minutes, another minute would have been just fine. The albums closer, “Black”, blends elements from earlier tracks to immerse the listener in a wave of furious melody to create an emotional affect on ones senses, but ultimately, doesn’t have the lasting impact that the beginning of the album sets up.

After listening to Lucky Me, it’s easy to see Killing The Dream took a softer approach this time around, and by no means is this a bad move on their part, it’s just not up to the caliber of their previous work. I can understand the band wanting to experiment with their sound, but I feel they left behind some of their hardcore roots that made their previous albums much more memorable. The short run time also hinders the album, coupled with the fact that one of the tracks is an instrumental. So in reality, there are only six songs, which makes this come across as more of an EP than a full-length. While it is a decent release with a few standout tracks, it just doesn’t hold your attention long enough to actually get into it and overall, enjoy it.

Killing The Dream – Lucky Me


– DA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.