Amogh Symphony
The Quantum Hack Code

01. The Fall OF World Defense System
02. Dvorzhetckii’s Prophecy
03. Osiris 1
04. The Quantum Barrier Code Interpretation By Mainframe
05. Polymorphic Infection: Releasing Proteus
06. X-Karna: Activated
07. The Nullification Method: Oni vs. Proteus
08. Decoded: Karnosiris
09. The Collapse Of Q-Web And Osiris 1

[Platinum Selling Artist | TBA]

Vishal J. Singh has got to be one of the greater unsung guitar virtuosos of our day. I had never heard of him or his project Amogh Symphony until my friend Mark Hawkins started doing acoustic jazz songs with him (alongside Luke Jaeger of Sleep Terror and Hunab Ku fame). Through Mark, I eventually discovered Amogh Symphony, a project fusing progressive and technical metal with several styles of jazz to create something akin to, as Mark described to me, Animals As Leaders on meth. The description isn’t far off at all, as the India-based Amogh Symphony, is heavier and jazzier than Animals as Leaders.

In a time where guitarists/producers seem to be gravitating towards a djenty sound, Vishal avoids chug like the plague, instead opting for virtuosity and picking and choosing genre styles to his liking through experimentation and soloing. Standing out as a “bedroom producer” is as easy as doing your own thing, which Amogh Symphony clearly does. The Quantum Hack Code is a very unique album, being an instrumental concept album based around some futuristic society where, to the best of my understanding, human memory is active through the internet and bodies are preserved a-la Surrogates. Then there’s some virus that runs a havok and shit goes haywire. To be honest, it’s kind of hard to follow on the first couple of listens as the music is the main focus, where genre-defying moments of tech death and acoustic latin jazz blend with ease, as in the track “Polymorphic Infection: Releasing Proteus”. However, the idea of a sci-fi instrumental progressive metal concept album is a very intriguing one, and Vishal certainly pulls it off.

While obviously focused around science fiction and technological concepts, The Quantum Hack Code manages to find a sweet spot between organic and acoustic sounds and modern guitar tone, layers of synths, programming, and electronic glitches. Throughout the album, acoustic drumming is provided by way of Jim Richman, based out of Virginia. His drumming is top notch; anyone who can keep up with this fast-paced and hectic music deserves praise. Often, the percussion is doubled, with programmed beats playing over the foundation laid by Richman, further adding to the dichotomy of organic and electronic sounds. Acoustic solos are all over the place, as are purely electronic passages. This unlikely combination works excellently.

The bass playing is amazing as well, popping and slapping underneath the rest of the action. Vishal has clearly given bass equal care in the album, as the tracks often seem just as technically demanding. There’s even something resembling a bass solo on “X-Carna: Activated”. The bass sitting so high and well in the mix lends well to the jazzed up progressive moments. The funk is even brought on occasion. I digs the funk.

I feel ashamed for putting off Amogh Symphony for so long, as this is a superb album that music geeks everywhere should get enjoyment out of. This offering really is mindblowing. You people need to pay more attention to Vishal J. Singh. After you finish listening to The Quantum Hack Code, you’ll be thinking, “Tosin Abasi, who?”

Amogh Symphony – The Quantum Hack Code gets…


– JR


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.