A Discord Electric

01. Dim the Lights and Run
02. Rumors of Worship
03. Nght Prty
04. Street Emperor
05. Blueprints For Lost Sounds
06. Shake Your Grave
07. Tiger Crown
08. Big Truth
09. The Great Depression
10. The Yeah Thing
11. Ire Vampire
12. Gunslingers and Tombstones

[Lifeforce | 10/11/10]

Danish metallers Raunchy are a hit or miss with many people. Employing a few genres such as industrial metal and metalcore into their sound, they play much brighter and melodic music than their parent genres, resulting in something that’s usually catchy and fun to listen to but also something you can or can’t stand. With a name like Raunchy, it’s hard to take them seriously, but rest assured that these guys play for realz. However, being a true band isn’t enough to save A Discord Electric from being mesmerizingly (is that even a word?) amazing at times and downright abysmal at others. Average is the best word to describe it.

The album kicks off with “Dim the Lights and Run” which is a phenomenal opener. It has a lot of bright, colorful leads with an incredibly lyrically-fitting catchy chorus delivered by Jeppe Christensen. When I first listened, I immediately connected him to the vocalist of Incubus. No, they don’t sound exactly the same, but their singing is the same type: effortless, passionate, light and simply natural. His harsh vocals are a very clear scream, but they’re weak and tolerable at best. Nevertheless, his singing is a strong point of the album. With an excellent opener, I expected to be greeted by the same strength as I continued my journey. Unfortunately, I was not. There are so many filler tracks here it’s disgusting. As if being boring and overall disappointing wasn’t enough, no song on the album is under 4 minutes. The last song, “Gunslingers and Tombstones”, drags on for an unnecessary 7 fucking minutes. It all adds up to an hour long rollercoaster. It’s a shame because tracks like “The Great Depression” and “Ire Vampire” are powerful, memorable and fun to listen to, but A Discord Electric as a whole is horribly inconsistent and I couldn’t be arsed to fully listen to the album front-to-back more than three times.

Comparing to their last release, Wasteland Discotheque, A Discord Electric is more of the same. Synths and other electronic instruments are prevalent here, adding sometimes a degree of cheesiness that is gag-worthy (“Big Truth”) and deserves nothing more than a dark, disapproving glare. While I’m on the subject of it, “Big Truth” is absolutely horrible. It’s cheesy, it’s lame, it’s boring and flatout sucks. It may have a foot-stomping beat, but the music is so weak and dependent on the radio-friendly singing that it doesn’t get me excited whatsoever. Seriously, the vocals sound like something out of a band similar to The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus. Putting my digression aside, A Discord Electric is Wasteland Discotechque 2.0 with a weaker kick drum. In fact, the first album suffered from the exact same inconsistency issues so the similarities here are a staggering “lolwut?” Don’t take that the wrong way, as sometimes more of the same is good (see Super Mario Galaxy 2), but when you rely on melodic instrumentals and catchy choruses with a flair of 80’s pop thrown in, things slowly become less appealing the more you listen. In its defense, the musicianship here is much better than most sing-a-long bands (“Ire Vampire” chorus) and they do switch things up a bit (even if it’s a detriment, *cough “Big Truth” *cough*) so that’s a plus. But at the end of the day, I can’t help but think I’ve heard it all before on their previous album.

Disregarding the negativity, the strong tracks are really strong and one of them is currently stuck in my head like a tumor. It’s a shame they couldn’t deliver energy all throughout because this could easily become a great addition to their discography. Sadly, it’s just take two with a little more synths and longer songs. Honestly, 60 minutes is far too much. It seems like a quantity over quality thing to me. And, as I said in my Soilwork review, relying on catchy choruses has limited appeal. There just simply isn’t enough to digest here to be called an amazing album because you’ll chew the biggest bite on your first listen.

In a nutshell, A Discord Electric is repeat of Wasteland Discotheque. Solid production, a few strong tracks, excellent singing and some decent melodies here and there. Everything else is bland filler that I feel like I’ve heard before. It’s a trudge through aural mud to get through it all.

The unique sound is laudable, but in the end Raunchy have tripped over their own feet. If you’re a die-hard fan of Wasteland Discotheque you’ll be pleased, I think, but the rest of us will have to wait a few years to see if Raunchy can take a logical step instead of playing it safe.

Footnote: the chorus of “Dim the Lights and Run” states “I’m sending out signals; a call for celebration. This is new music.” Yeah, maybe if he means a rehash. I’ll let it slide, though, as it’s my favorite Raunchy song now.

Raunchy – A Discord Electric gets…




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.