When it comes to the deathcore scene, All Shall Perish are definitely on the honor roll, as their last album Awaken the Dreamers has shown. It was an amazing album, proving that straight up deathcore can be executed correctly, offering something outstanding.

It seems that now, however, there has been a shake-up in the All Shall Perish lineup. Here’s the band’s statement on the matter:

“So we’re long due for an update on the currently happenings of All Shall Perish. Firstly, we’re pleased to announce that Adam Pierce (Sea of Treachery) has come on board as our new drummer. Yes, this means that one of our original members, Matt Kuykendall, is no longer in the band. It’s always tough to part ways with a longtime member and friend, but it was absolutely necessary in order to maintain forward progress.

Also, as many of you may already know, our most recent lead guitarist, Jason Richardson, has left ASP and joined Born of Osiris. That being said, we’d like you all to welcome Francesco Artusato, originally hailing from Treviso, Italy, as our new touring guitarist for the foreseeable future. This is the lineup you’ll see throughout this year and hopefully well beyond.

We feel great about these new additions and are confident that the ASP fans will make them feel welcome! There will be new photos and more updates coming soon. Come see us on Summer Slaughter and hang out!”

This is a little troubling, as the guitar work on Awaken The Dreamers was one of the things that made it so great, so loosing an axe man could definitely set them back in quality. Hopefully whoever takes over guitar duties full time can contribute something worthwhile.

I hate being a skeptic (I do maintain an a sense of optimism, however), but it is what it is. Deathcore this good and outstanding is hard to come by. Here’s the title track from Awaken The Dreamers.

– JR

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.