Cannibal Corpse


01. Demented Aggression
02. Sarcofagic Frenzy
03. Scourge Of Iron
04. Encased In Concrete
05. As Deep As The Knife Will Go
06. Intestinal Crank
07. Followed Home Then Killed
08. The Strangulation Chair
09. Caged… Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through

[Metal Blade Records]

One thing that has always intrigued me about the Cannibal Corpse sound is the way people respond to it. Their importance is unquestionable; they’re one of the biggest selling death metal bands ever and after 22 years, there’s no sign of them stopping or even slacking — if I had to pick one band to represent death metal, it would probably be the Corpse. However, time and time again I hear from people who just don’t like it, the most common remark being ‘I like death metal, but not Cannibal Corpse’. Honestly, I don’t really get it. There’s definitely a distinct sound — groovy death metal with smatterings of technicality that doesn’t rely on constant blastbeats to be brutal, but there’s nothing present that’s particularly offensive.

Continue Reading…